The Blue Umbrella: An Animated Short

The Blue Umbrella: An Animated Short

Image

Yesterday, I went to see Monsters University in the cinema, having seen Monsters Inc. as a child, this was a great insight as to see how Mike and Sully got into the business. I have always been captivated by great animation be it films, cartoons, or just small animated GIFs. I may not be a massive Pixar fan like Oh Matthew is, but I appreciate how much effort and time goes into a single character and the story.

“The Blue Umbrella” was the animated short that was featured before the film came on screen. Naturally I thought it was the start of the actual film, but then I realised no monsters were there. I was generally engrossed into this animated short. The houses, and general road side objects had their own character and personality which connected really well with the audience. The main characters, the Red and Blue umbrella had their own way of communicating like humans meeting each other for the first time. It was a love story between two umbrellas, and eventually the people holding the umbrellas. I found that the rain also helped set the mood. All the black umbrellas were extremely unhappy, but the Blue and Red umbrellas were both happy and cheerful.

What also captivated me was the fact that the contrast between the main characters and the other umbrellas were striking which made the audience focus more on the main characters. There was a sad bit where the Blue got parted from the Red, and the wind, road signs and all the other road or house objects helped the umbrella, until it fell onto the road, where one of the children sitting in front of me either said “die” or “bye” which was really cute and funny.

I really enjoyed this animated short as it is one of the best I have seen in ages.
The link is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVFNRrL79w0

NOTE: I do not own the copyrights to this image

 

Leave a Reply

