Before I die …. | An adventure from Little Venice to Camden Lock / Market

I went on a trip to Little Venice yesterday, with one of my best friends. It was so good to go back to one of my childhood places and see some familiar faces. (I have Gary Jules – Mad World stuck in my head).

Once we looked around, and had food with a drink from the beer tent, my friend and I decided to walk up to Camden. On the way, we saw this amazing board.

  101_5017101_5016101_5018 

At first, it appeared to be a chalk board, with a whole load of lines. To say the least, my friend and I were intrigued. To our surprise, it was a massive bucket list written by different people in chalk. This interactivity, was incredible. I found out this morning who made this board, and came up with the idea. Her name is Candy Chang.

She is a Taiwanese American artist who is interested in the relationship between public space and personal well being. (Taken from her biography)
She went through a rough patch, after losing someone close to her. And this was a result. The wall now has a website, and a book about the whole adventure. The website for this wall, has instructions on how to make your own. As much as I like promoting other people’s work, please do this respectively and follow the instructions fully, (I don’t want you to get into trouble and I don’t think Candy Chang wants her work / idea to get a bad name too).  Please go visit these sites, and look around for the walls. You never know where you might find one. Here is the list of them. As a head start.

 

I have written on the wall too. For some self advertisement for, however long the board isn’t cleaned.

101_5032  101_5020101_5019

This board has increased my passion more for graphic design, and interacting with people in a unique way. I have loads of plans in my head for when I get a house and a studio, on what I would put on my walls to make them less boring. I would love to make a ‘Before I Die’ wall, or a similar idea for one of those plans. This type of interactivity is special, and the amount of passion that has built up for me around graphic design will never die. Now, before I die, I will become a great designer, that will strive in my passion and continue the legacy that is Graphic Design.

2 thoughts on “Before I die …. | An adventure from Little Venice to Camden Lock / Market

  1. Hey, I’m Ebon Talifarro, my class (8th grade) wants to interview you, would you have time to answer a few questions?

    Like

Leave a Reply

