Preparations & Freelancing

I haven’t really done an update in a while, so here’s what’s been happening this summer!

I have been dabbling in hand written typography, maybe not to a great standard but I will hopefully, with practice get better and more precise with my lettering. It’s actually quite enjoyable to do something different, which I hope to continue into the future.

I have also been preparing for the YCN Awards Ceremony, where I will be picking up my award as a winner in the competition. I am really excited as this is my first major design competition, and to win it as a 2nd year, in university is a fantastic achievement altogether! I am really proud of my self and this experience and opportunity has given me more confidence in my growing skills, as a Graphic Designer.

I have now started a new project, which will be really good experience for me. I have been commissioned by my uncle, to design a logo, some stationary and build a website for his building services and home improvements business. Having gained some experience and knowledge on a similar project at university, as an assignment, I can now apply this knowledge in professional practice! I’m also hoping to use this as an example in my portfolio to attempt to attract the eye of an identity and branding company in Guildford.

I’ll be updating this blog as I develop this project further, as is also good practice.

Leave a Reply

