Today’s Design Antics….

As part of my Professional Practice: Promotion and Employability unit, I have to design my own identity and promotional materials. Now those of you who follow Hotham Designs, you’ll notice my current icon. Yeah…. I am scrapping that from College…..

After four pages of sketches, and one page full of typefaces I have decided to stick with this circus / fairground style character. ‘J’ is the start of my name, I am part of a Circus Society, and I love to be playful and experimental with my design work so this is the perfect style for me to go with.

Obviously it needs work, so separate print layers with the cut out. I will also be digitally crafting this and hand painting it too, to see how the effect works. Then I can focus on the promotional materials, colours, and of course my portfolio site which I hope to hand code in HTML and CSS with a small amount of Java Script if I can get to grips with it in time.

Using woodblock printing inks and Greyboard this is today’s messy fun time!!! I enjoy using different mediums and I am finally getting back into it with my Major Project and this one too!

Watch this space for developments on my identity as a Graphic Designer!

Leave a Reply

