A New Journey

This past month, has been really eventful.

WP_20160709_12_47_01_Pro

The start, involved a week long exhibition at the Business Design Centre, in Islington, for the New Designers Part 2 event and before hand a trip to see The House of MinaLima. This was really exhausting, yet I met lots of new people, networked with some in the industry, whom I shall be contacting next week. I feel that my work, especially my ISTD Book which gained significant attention, due to it’s unusual format. Naturally lots of questions were asked about why it was round, how I produced it and why I did such a thing and in return, I answered confidently while expressing the technical difficulties involved. Many widened their eyes in surprise at how much went into testing it. Others were more surprised that I actually pulled it off.

During New Designers, not only did I see many talented people that I will certainly hope to meet again some day, but I had gained a couple of interviews and a meeting with a creative careers consultant, who was really helpful in offering me a couple of opportunities to apply to. However, I have been unsuccessful so far in my search, but I am looking and applying to everything I can. I hope soon, I will find something.

The week after, I graduated with an Upper 2nd Class BA (Hons) Degree in Graphic Design. My efforts for the YCN Awards were noted, in a celebration before hand and was called when I walked to shake our Chancellor Sandi Toxvig’s hand as well as the Dean of our School, Catherine Harper.

It has been a wonderful journey these past three years and I hope soon, my new journey as a Graphic Designer will flourish in industry and my talents continue to grow!

Leave a Reply

