Personal Projects and more

The Graduate show, on Friday evening, was great! I spoke to many people, including the Lord Mayor of Portsmouth, he was a lovely man very interested in what we do in the Graphic Design Basement Studios, also spoke to many visitors, had long conversations about Adrian Frutiger and my work / others work. Really enjoyed the evening and was honoured to exhibit with my peers and friends.

The day before, I purchased a screen printing set, from the art store….and this gave me ideas to start making prints… GOOD prints… for personal projects, while applying for a career in Graphic Design. The aim of the game, (I’ve had this inclination for a while, but never got round to starting) is to sell these prints on. Perhaps at events such as Comic Con, Waterways / Craft festivals and see how and where it gets me.

I think I might start small and get into the Free Art Friday community, perhaps even document my adventures / progress on my new found Instagram account, Twitter and on this blog as well.

I’ve had an idea as a starting point. The nursary rhyme, ‘One for Sorrow’ about the superstitions around Magpies. It’s got so many versions and I want to do them all!!! Perhaps even to start off with, to practice  hand lettering, screen printing and on screen. The reason is, since I heard the rhyme and Band of Skulls: Patterns, the rhyme has had a bit of an impact on me. I’m not majorly superstitious, other than Fate, Destiny and everything happens for a reason, ghosts / kindred spirits kind of thing. (Still… not majorly, but enough to be open minded).

Updates on progress to come soon!

Leave a Reply

